color me happy

my goodness, you guys.  i love me some knitting.  and i’m going to share with you what is possibly my favorite knit project thus far.

ever since i pulled together images for fall color inspiration, this one has stuck with me:

 

 

the way the cream melts right into the hot chocolate.  as my daughter would say, gorgeous.  now, i know it could be completely pavlovian. i mean, to be honest, i look at this photo and i start to get twitchy and wonder why i haven’t got a cup of this goodness in my hand. (cue: oh darling husband of mine!)

hot chocolate for me signals the transition to the colder months.  it’s when you start replacing the ice cream with a mug of steamy chocolate and curl up on the couch and read.  or knit, if that’s your pleasure.

and knit i did.  i spied this pattern a while back.  it’s shibui’s transition gloves – and how apropos is that name?  using wullenstudio’s sock yarn – yumminess in wool form.

let's get it started
this is my first colorwork project.  it was fiddly at first.  i knit continental and tried to do two handed knitting.  no good.  took too long and it was exasperating.  patience being an overrated virtue (santa, please don’t listen to me here), i went to that indomitable fount of all wisdom: google.  i promptly learned to knit with both colors on one hand.  off we go!

transition gloves
colorwork, i found, doesn’t lend itself to malleability.  it kinda is the size that it is.  thankfully, the shibui pattern is thoughtfully written and fits, haha, like a glove.

transition gloves
and really, aren’t these gloves lovely?

transition gloves
it makes drinking my cup of warmth on a fall morning more enjoyable.

transition gloves
and i think baby bean agrees with me.  these gloves have been well worth the effort!  i mean, really, don’t his little legs look cuter being cradled in these gloved arms?  amirite?
bean and transition gloves
seriously, though, because i can’t resist:  baby feet. *nomnom*
bean feet
i’ve entered these in the celebrate color event.

Celebrate Color

again, rachel, shannon, emma, and mollie, thank you for hosting a lovely contest!  what a great prelude into thinking of handmade christmas.

About mamacharm

just because...
This entry was posted in bean, knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to color me happy

  1. Angie S. says:

    I love these! I love baby feet too. They are scrumcious. I have entered the contest too, but I think these take the cake! Now I must go sulk in a GIANT cup of hot chocolate.

    knitterlydesigns on Ravelry

    • mamacharm says:

      you’re so sweet! thanks. i saw the cowl that you made – that blue is unbelievably gorgeous with your eyes. really lovely work. i’m off to find you on ravelry! (i’m corlee on ravelry – i should change that one of these days to mamacharm…)

  2. Most welcome! Love the gloves! They turned out fabulous! Love your pics too 🙂

  3. estherlim says:

    Fingerless gloves! And…is it just me or is the little guy getting chubbier?? ^____^

    • mamacharm says:

      yes! love them! and also, yes. the little guy is 20 pounds of chub. ohmygoodness, i love his little ham hock legs. i could squeeze them all day!

  4. Rachel says:

    Oh, I love them! I knit continental as well – so good to know that one-handed is possible with colorwork. Maybe someday.

    • mamacharm says:

      it is definitely doable one-handed! give them a go. the pattern is so well done (read ravelry for one bit of a snafu in the directions) and cozy.

Come type to me

